Sermon: What Dreams May Come

Posted on


I am in rage myself about the plight of humanity. When I look at the spiritual forecast unfolding before my eyes I weep. Our black athletes self destructing and our kids of the future being exploited I ponder my inner man’s ability to sustain my faith and hope to deliver us from this body of sin. I am convicted because of the delusion I often find my faith suffering. My personal battles and desires that I thirst to engage this war of harassing thoughts of defeat pertaining to the condition of our existence as people of color is weighing me down beyond measure.

I desire so bad to be a vessel of peace and love and honor. I desire so bad to find my purpose within God’s will for my life. I want to be a man who is driving change in my utopia, but all I find is doubt and doors closing at every attempt to make a difference in the lives of disenfranchised people. This sermon has assisted me to press onward.

WE wear the mask that grins and lies,
It hides our cheeks and shades our eyes,—
This debt we pay to human guile;
With torn and bleeding hearts we smile,
And mouth with myriad subtleties.
Why should the world be over-wise,
In counting all our tears and sighs?
Nay, let them only see us, while
We wear the mask.

We wear the mask that grins and lies,
It hides our cheeks and shades our eyes,—
This debt we pay to human guile;
With torn and bleeding hearts we smile,
And mouth with myriad subtleties.

Why should the world be over-wise,
In counting all our tears and sighs?
Nay, let them only see us,while
We wear the mask.

We smile, but, O great Christ, our cries
To thee from tortured souls arise.
We sing, but oh the clay is vile
Beneath our feet, and long the mile;
But let the world dream otherwise,
We wear the mask!

http://www.gofundme.com/Empowering-Felons

The Reverend Marcus G. Halley

RedHotRiplets[Given on Sunday, August 17, 2014 by The Rev. Fr. Marcus Halley – St. Andrew’s Episcopal Church – Kansas City, MO]

Isaiah 56:1,6-8
Matthew 15:21-28

In the name of our Great God who is Creating, Liberating, and Sustaining. Amen +

I’m angry. Actually, beyond angry, but “angry” is the only word I can use across the sacred space without losing my job.

The events of this past week all over the globe, all over this country, and even right here in our very own state have created a context of collective disgust. It seems that violence and upheaval are running loose all over this fragile earth, our island home. Beloved, I’m angry.

The situations between Russia and the Ukraine and in Iraq continue to hinge on uncertainty tipping everyday closer and closer to doom and disaster.

In recent weeks we saw Israel respond to minor and often ineffective rocket attacks from the…

View original post 1,920 more words

Leave a Reply

