Visualization!!!!!!

Posted on Updated on



When I watched this movie I could relate to everything Pi was experiencing because I too was raised in a home of multi cultural beliefs. I use to ponder as a child why I had to sale bean pies and pray so many times a day facing the east. I use to ask my dad why we couldn’t use Afro Sheen products as our friends. I would have to attend bible study and prayer meeting on Tuesday and Wednesday nights and then on Thursday go to the mosque and perform neighborhood watch detail and sale the final call newspapers. I would have to pray with my mom and still maintain the strict disciplines of Islam.

I remember asking the Pastor of my mom’s church, which was the church of God and Christ why is there so much confusion associated with God and religion? He said to me that God will reveal Himself and the path in which He has planned for all of His called children. I never understood any of it. I just wanted to get out of that house and find my way on my own. Once I was excepted into the navy and had chose the University I wanted to attend I began to feel God’s presence for myself and things began to unfold. I had my own visions and they weren’t forced upon me.


What happened to me after graduation from Syracuse was not viewed by me as God being cruel, but quite the contrary. I saw it as God being intimately acquainted with the process of developing my life. I maintained my thoughts and vision for my life without any outside influences. I endured racism and hardships while at Syracuse. I experienced all sought of attacks on my ethnicity in the navy. I prayed to the only God that was calling me towards Him and that God’s name is Jesus. He used every circumstance to mold me for the tragedies that waited for me in Libya and Kuwait and Desert Storm. He knew what Iran was going to be like for me. This movie The Life of Pi spoke volumes to my inner man about survival of having faith and finding your way to God with vision and that is my opinion.

Ecclesiastes 7:25-29

The Message (MSG)

How to Interpret the Meaning of Life

23-25 I tested everything in my search for wisdom. I set out to be wise, but it was beyond me, far beyond me, and deep—oh so deep! Does anyone ever find it? I concentrated with all my might, studying and exploring and seeking wisdom—the meaning of life. I also wanted to identify evil and stupidity, foolishness and craziness.

26-29 One discovery: A woman can be a bitter pill to swallow, full of seductive scheming and grasping. The lucky escape her; the undiscerning get caught. At least this is my experience—what I, the Quester, have pieced together as I’ve tried to make sense of life. But the wisdom I’ve looked for I haven’t found. I didn’t find one man or woman in a thousand worth my while. Yet I did spot one ray of light in this murk: God made men and women true and upright; we’re the ones who’ve made a mess of things.
untitled

Major James Nesmeth, and average weekend golfer shooting in the mid-to-low-nineties, dreamed of improving his golf game. But for seven years, he never touched a club nor set foot on a fairway. During those years, however, he developed an amazingly effective technique for improving his game. The first time he returned to a course, he shot an astonishing seventy-four! He had cut twenty strokes off his average.

What was his secret? Visualization. For seven years, Major Nesmeth was a prisoner of war in North Vietnam. He was imprisoned in a cage 4 1/2 feet high and 5 feet long. Most of those years, he saw no one, talked to no one, and had no physical activity. He knew he had to find some way to occupy his mind, or he would lose his sanity, so he played eighteen holes at the imaginary country club of his dreams. He imagined every detail… every shot. And not once did he miss a shot or putt. Seven days a week, four hours a day, he played eighteen holes in his mind.

Your dreams for the future will be much more likely to come true if you visualize your goals and imagine reaching them. you will be training your mind to produce successful thoughts and ideas. On the clarity of your ideas depends the scope of your success in any endeavor. What goals do I have that would benefit from visualizing success be? I will share that with you. I have been on house arrest for 355 days and my wife and I have had to use visualization coupled with faith to get to this point of our trek. We have found our God to be incredible. We lost everything we had acquired before this debacle. We have been sustained by God all the way through this time of uncertainty. We visualized a bill for felon reformation, we visualized us being able to worship and go to church while serving our time of captivity, we visualized my wife making the Dean’s list while being allowed to continue her education, we visualized restoration of having a car to get to our appointments and to do the work of the Lord. We have visualized getting a LLC business to employ those suffering from the effects of having a felony arrest of their record.

All things begin with your thoughts. When the thoughts are distorted your future will be distorted. Leave your fears beside the road and hit your knees with brokenness and confess all you need is the Lord to speak to you about your plight and He is faithful to do what He said.

Leave a Reply

