O.B. Markers

Posted on Updated on


i need GodimagesCA7Q6UKG

Jeremiah 5:21-31 (The Message)
21 Listen to this, you scatterbrains, airheads, With eyes that see but don’t really look, and ears that hear but don’t really listen. 22 Why don’t you honor me? Why aren’t you in awe before me? Yes, me, who made the shorelines to contain the ocean waters. I drew a line in the sand that cannot be crossed. Waves roll in but cannot get through; breakers crash but that’s the end of them. 23 But this people – what a people! Uncontrollable, untamable runaways. 24 It never occurs to them to say, ‘How can we honor our God with our lives, The God who gives rain in both spring and autumn and maintains the rhythm of the seasons, Who sets aside time each year for harvest and keeps everything running smoothly for us?’ 25 Of course you don’t! Your bad behavior blinds you to all this. Your sins keep my blessings at a distance. To Stand for Nothing and Stand Up for No One 26 “My people are infiltrated by wicked men, unscrupulous men on the hunt. They set traps for the unsuspecting. Their victims are innocent men and women. 27 Their houses are stuffed with ill-gotten gain, like a hunter’s bag full of birds. Pretentious and powerful and rich, 28 hugely obese, oily with rolls of fat. Worse, they have no conscience. Right and wrong mean nothing to them. They stand for nothing, stand up for no one, throw orphans to the wolves, exploit the poor. 29 Do you think I’ll stand by and do nothing about this?” God’s Decree. “Don’t you think I’ll take serious measures against a people like this? 30 “Unspeakable! Sickening! What’s happened in this country? 31 Prophets preach lies and priests hire on as their assistants. And my people love it. They eat it up! But what will you do when it’s time to pick up the pieces?

Psalm 119:75

The Message (MSG)

With your very own hands you formed me;
now breathe your wisdom over me so I can understand you.
When they see me waiting, expecting your Word,
those who fear you will take heart and be glad.
I can see now, God, that your decisions are right;
your testing has taught me what’s true and right.
Oh, love me—and right now!—hold me tight!
just the way you promised.
Now comfort me so I can live, really live;
your revelation is the tune I dance to.
Let the fast-talking tricksters be exposed as frauds;
they tried to sell me a bill of goods,
but I kept my mind fixed on your counsel.
Let those who fear you turn to me
for evidence of your wise guidance.
And let me live whole and holy, soul and body,
so I can always walk with my head held high.

Tonight I need to be reminded that everything is being watched by God, even how I accept what He allows. In watching this George Zimmerman verdict, I am appalled, but I need to resolve my inner man to trust God to protect and strengthen us as a people to trust in Him to vindicate us when we feel or are unjustly accused or not given a righteous judgment by “man”. I am soliciting anyone and everyone to pray for us as a nation or tribe that seems to be not considered worthy of honor. I want you to honor yourselves and those of the same spirit to “Trusting” God as so many of our forefathers had to do.

In the game od golf, out-of-bounds or O.B. makers designate when a ball has gone out of play. If a player’s ball goes out-of-bounds, a one stroke penalty is imposed. The prophet Jeremiah warned the southern kingdom of Judah about their persistent rejection of God’s boundaries for them. He said that even the sea knows that the sand on the seashore is its O.B. marker, “an everlasting barrier it cannot cross”(Jeremiah 5:22). Yet the Lord’s people had defiant and rebellious hearts(v.23). They grew rich on deceit(V.27) and ignored the pleas of the disadvantaged(v.28).

God has given moral boundaries in His word for us to live within. He gave them not to frustrate us but so that by keeping within them we may enjoy His blessings. David wrote: “I know, O Lord, that Your judgments are right”(Psalms 119:75). God told Israel through Moses, “I have set before you life and death, blessings and cursing; therefore choose life”(Deuteronomy 30:19).

Don’t test God’s boundaries and invite His correction. Make wise choices to live within His O.B. markers in His Word.

The Lord has given us commands,
And told us to obey;
Our own designs are sure to fail,
If we neglect His way!

A small step of obedience is a giant step to blessings.

4 thoughts on “O.B. Markers

    blessedaaron08 responded:
    July 14, 2013 at 11:59 pm

    Aaron every time I am feeling down all I do is remember where my help comes from and the grace and mercy that my God pours into me each and everyday that He blesses me to breathe. I love your writings, God has truly anointed you as one of his disciples…May God continue to bless your life…M

      blessedaaron08 responded:
      July 15, 2013 at 1:30 am

      Well wifey, I am moved by your comment and I will continue to submit to His plan as to allow me the grace required to be used as a honorable husband and manservant to Him.

    PASTOR DAVIS/MASTER TEACHER said:
    July 15, 2013 at 12:45 am

    You have presented a truly great message here this day my friend. Thanks for sharing and may the grace of God cover you and all that you do. In Jesus name, Amen!

      blessedaaron08 responded:
      July 15, 2013 at 1:27 am

      To God be the glory, thanks so much pastor. I try so hard to stay below the surface as to get something for me first. Thanks a lot. Hearing this from you means a lot as well. Thanks for your time.

Leave a Reply

