What Will You Do To Be Remembered?

Posted on Updated on


I would like to be remembered as a person who wanted to be free… so other people would be also free.

Rosa Parks chart_famous_jcr

I found myself contemplating how I would be remembered after this life by friends and family. I saw an seen on the movie Troy that depicted what actions people remember about you that makes you stand out in the course of life and at the epic moment of your epitaph.

Proverbs 16:9

New King James Version (NKJV)

9 A man’s heart plans his way, But the Lord directs his steps.

Taking steps with alignment with God is the beginning to being remembered as a person who served God well in the community and life. I have preached several funerals and the thoughts of not having the family able to eulogize their loved ones with any memorable moments that defined what they represented or added to the life of family and friends speaks volumes to me. Standing for morals and true quality of life is essential in-order to have a legacy and thumb print in life.

A comic strip created by the late Charles Schulz addressed the need for each of us to make the most of the present moments in our lives. Charlie Brown is at bat. Strike three. He has struck out again. He slumps down on the players’ bench. “Rats!” he exclaims. “I’ll never be a big-league player. I just don’t have it! All my life I’ve dreamed of playing in the big leagues, but I know I’ll never make it.”

Lucy turns to console him. “Charlie Brown,” she says, “you’re thinking too far ahead. What you need to do is set yourself more immediate goals.” Charlie Brown looks up and asks, “Immediate goals?” Lucy responds, “Yes. Start with this next inning when you go out to pitch. See if you can walk out to the mound without falling down.”

The first steps towards walking into any future you can picture is the step that you take today. Make it a forward, positive, energetic, purposeful step. The steps you take today become the well-worn paths of tomorrow. The only preparation for tomorrow is the right use of today.

Leave a Reply

