I Thank God for Prayer

Posted on Updated on


Empower A Felon
Empower A Felon

All who call on God in true faith, earnestly from the heart, will certainly be heard, and will receive what they have asked and desired.

Martin Luther

I praise God for being real to me. I thank God for every mountain He brought me over, for every trial He has seen me through. I woke up this un-promised day by the ruler of the universe with purpose and good health. I thank God for not allowing death to grace my life today nor any of the gifts of individuals aligned with my life, I praise Elohim for watching over my enemies associated with my life and this country. I thank God for prayer and His attentative ear that I trust hears my evey prayer. I thank God for being fair, firm , and just when it comes to loving His creation.

James 5:17

New International Version (NIV)

17 Elijah was a human being, even as we are. He prayed earnestly that it would not rain, and it did not rain on the land for three and a half years.

Thank God Elijah was “just like us”! He sat under a tree, complained to God, and expressed his belief–just as we have often done. Yet this was not the case at all when he was truly in touch with God. “Elijah was a man just like us,” yet “he prayed earnestly.” The literal meaning of this in the greek is magnificent: instead of saying, “earnestly,” It says, “He prayed in prayer.” My God I am feeling this and His presence this morning: In other words, “He kept on praying.” The lesson here is that you must keep praying.

Climb to the top of Mount Carmel and see that great story of faith and sight. After Elijah had called down fire from heaven to defeat the prophets of Baal, rain was needed for God’s prophecy to be fulfilled. And the man who could command fire from heaven could bring rain using the same methods. We are told, “Elijah…bent down to the ground and put his face between his knees”(1Kings 18:42), shutting out all sights and sounds. He put himself in a position, beneath his robe, to meither see nor hear what was happening.

Elijah then said to his servant,”Go and look towards the sea”. Upon returning, the servant replied, “There is nothing there.” How brief his response must have seemed! “Nothing!” Can you imagine what we would do under the same circumstances? We would say,”just as I expected!” and then would stop praying. But did Elijah give up? No. In fact, six times he told his servant,”Go back,” Each time the servant returned saying, “Nothing!”

Yet “the seventh time the servant reported,’A cloud as small as a man’s hand is rising from the sea'”. What a fitting description, for a man’s hand had been raised in prayer to God before the rains came. And the rains came so fast and furiously that Elijah warned Ahab to “go down before the rain stops you.”

My faith says what Elijah faith said. I can see the breaking of day in my life. The system of this world would winn if I didn’t have God in me who is greater than “Me” that used to be world centered. I have faith that sooner or later it will turn around for me as it did for the Man of God. Felonies, convictions, lack of materialisim, lack of hope, fear of the uncertain is turning around for me, I can see the hand in the clouds of doubt and dispair forming in mu behalf. “Yes” my God is in love with “Me” and His promises are for “Me” and I will have what I have need of in this life because He is in control.

This story of faith and sight–faith cutting itself off from everything except God, with sight that looks and yet sees nothing. Yes, in-spite of utterly hopeless reports received from sight, this story of faith that continues “praying in prayer.” Willie Ashley my brother in the faith, I encourage you in Jesus name to be this way. Shut off your incarceration and focus on ‘ABBA” let Him soothe your natural appearances and see yourself from a faith perspective. We agree with the will of God for your life.

Do you know how to pray in that way–how to prevail in prayer? Let your sight bring you reports of discouraging as possible, but pay no attention to them. Our heavenly Father lives, and even the delays of answers to our prayers are part of His goodness. Each of three young boys once gave a definition of faith that illustrates the important aspect of tenacity. The first boy defined faith as “taking hold of Christ,” the second as “keeping our hold on Him,” and the third as “not letting go of Him.”

One thought on “I Thank God for Prayer

    […] I Thank God for Prayer (blessedaaron08.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

