Following Orders

Posted on Updated on


Jesus arrestfollowing orders

our time masterminding the future, but recognize our marching orders: to do the best we can for history and the planet.

Huston Smith

I am very thankful for today. I have my story and before I share a favorite story of mines I want to tell you about the motivation I have to be successful in “This Life” of today. I am a convicted felon, disenfranchised from employment and housing and the contract of living in America. But I found something out this morning about motivation. I have to keep moving inspite of my challenges that plague my life. I found out how to see myself. I looked into the scriptures by the leading of the holy spirit and found a snap shot how to look at Aaron.

I looked at Romans 8:27 and then my inner man began to speak crystal clear about that text. He said Aaron, if you want to be a conqueror, you must first be conquered. I said to myself that I am only experiencing as much victory in Jesus as Jesus is experiencing in me. If there is an area of repeated failure in me, that’s a good sign there is an area of my life over which Jesus Christ is not yet Lord. If you want to to be conquerors, you must first be conquered. Today I was “arrested” in a unique way other than I have been accustomed too. It was at this moment I recognized being “arrested” by Jesus and given comfort to stand in-spite of my challenges.

One of my favorite stories of Arturo Toscannini, the great symphony conductor, was this:

Proverbs 14:29
New International Version (NIV)
29 Whoever is patient has great understanding,
but one who is quick-tempered displays folly.

An orchestra was playing Beethoven's Leonore Overture, which has two great musical climaxes. Each of these musical high points is followed by a trumpet passage, which the composer intended to be played offstage. The first climax arrived, but no sound came from the trumpet oFfstage. The conductor, annoyed, went on to the second musical high point. But again, no trumpet was heard.

This time, the conductor rushed, fuming, into the wings, with every intention of demanding a full explanation. There he found the trumpet player struggling with the house security guard who was insisting as he held on to the man's trumpet for dear life, "I tell you, you can't play that trumpet back here! You'll disturb the rehearsal!" Like the security guard, we often jump to conclusions when we try to judge the actions of others. The trumpet player knew what the conductor had directed him to do; the security guard didn't. We are called to obey the conductor, and allow–even help–others to do so as well. Ignorance is always swift to speak.

One thought on “Following Orders

    walter bright said:
    April 24, 2013 at 12:01 am

    good stuff… very good stuff!

Leave a Reply

