Are you watching your Community and the Bahavior of its Teens?

Posted on Updated on


suicide girl

Tell me and I forget. Teach me and I remember. Involve me and I learn.

Benjamin Franklin

With all the recent suicides over shadowing our teens in the world in the last two months our times of devotion and prayer meetings should be filled with breath prayers and on the ramparts of our church youths. I really feel for the families of these young girls. The people that made them victims are to be considered as sick and in need as well for spiritual prayers.


SARATOGA, California — Eight days after being sexually assaulted by friends while passed out at a party, and then humiliated by online photos, 15-year-old Audrie Pott posted on Facebook that her life was ruined, “worst day ever,” and hanged herself, the family’s lawyer said.

For the next eight months, her family struggled to figure out what happened to their soccer-loving, artistic, horse-crazy daughter, whose gentle smile, long dark hair and shining eyes belied a struggling soul.

And then on Thursday, a California sheriff’s office arrested three 16-year-old boys on suspicion of sexual battery. The arrests “reopened a wound” for family members of Pott, and they have gone into seclusion, family attorney Robert Allard said.

“The family has been trying to understand why their loving daughter would have taken her life at such a young age and to make sure that those responsible would be held accountable,” Allard said.

“After an extensive investigation that we have conducted on behalf of the family, there is no doubt in our minds that the victim, then only 15 years old, was savagely assaulted by her fellow high school students while she lay on a bed completely unconscious,” he said.

Matt was 14 years old when he was baptized at Second Life Baptist church, a one-room country church only a few miles from his house. A few months later, Matt dropped out of the church. The pastor and his wife visited him several times, but failed to persuade Matt to return to church. Everyone was concerned for him, but no one suspected the real reason for his absence. Matt was expecting a child. About a month before the baby was expected to deliver, Matt cleaned his room, emptied his school locker, and wrote a note to his mother:

“You kept asking me if I was OK and I kept telling you I was, but I wasn’t OK. I’m sorry, Mom. I’ve got too many problems. I am taking the easy way out.”

Matt left that day before his mother arrived home from work. He walked to the railroad tracks near his house, knelt between the rails, and folded his hands over his face as Amtrak 168 barreled down upon him. The train engineer, a man who had a fourteen-year-old daughter of his own, later said that when he saw Matt, it was too late to stop the train. He watched him cross himself before he died.

Suicide is not a funny thing. People everyday consider “ending it all.” In fact, Suicide is the third leading cause of death among teens 15-24 year olds. According to the National Institute of Mental Health, eighteen teenagers per day kill themselves in the United States. Every 80 minutes another teenagers commits suicide. Over a hundred teens per week, and the total come to a staggering 6,500 lives lost. Not only that, but over 1000 teens per day attempt to commit suicide. That’s almost 1 teen per minute. 73% of kids admit having thought about suicide. How many of you reading this blog know someone who has talked about or attempted suicide? The statistics show that at least 70% of you know someone who has attempted it.

Every suicide is an attempt to say, “I NEED HELP.” People will use faulty reasoning, and have a deep sense of hopelessness. They’ll say things like, “nobody cares about me,” “I wish I were dead,” “this world would better off without me.” I often wonder why someone would do something like this, but then I remember when I was in high school. On many occasions after a fight with my then girlfriend, I’d have visions of driving my car into a ditch at 90 mph. I guess I had those thoughts myself. I thought, “I’ll show her…she’ll admit she was wrong when I’m dead.” It was that faulty reasoning that made me have those thoughts. I guess as a teenager you carry the weight of the world on your shoulders. There are so many things, and people vying for your attention, and sometimes you just can’t take it. Your parents are always doggin’ you, you just broke up with a boyfriend who cheated on you with your best friend, your heart hurts, you think it would just be better to not exist at all…then the pain will go away. So, what do you do? You cut your wrists. You don’t really know what’ll happen, but who cares. You want the pain to stop. You’re tired of feeling the way you do, and you just want to stop hurting. It’s easy.

The truth is that others have felt that way before you. Others have dealt with hurt, with pain. Others have wished they didn’t exist. Psalm 73:14, “all day long I have been plagued; I have been punished every morning.” Those others are people from the Bible-God’s love letter. What!?! The Bible, a book of hope contains stories of suicide? Yes. Job 3:1-11, “ 1 After this, Job opened his mouth and cursed the day of his birth. 2 He said: “May the day of my birth perish, and the night it was said, ’A boy is born!’ That day—may it turn to darkness; may God above not care about it; may no light shine upon it. 5 May darkness and deep shadow [a] claim it once more; may a cloud settle over it; may blackness overwhelm its light. 6 That night—may thick darkness seize it;
may it not be included among the days of the year nor be entered in any of the months. 7 May that night be barren; may no shout of joy be heard in it. 8 May those who curse days [b] curse that day, those who are ready to rouse Leviathan. 9 May its morning stars become dark; may it wait for daylight in vain and not see the first rays of dawn, 10 for it did not shut the doors of the womb on me to hide trouble from my eyes. 11 “Why did I not perish at birth, and die as I came from the womb?”

The same man, who only a chapter before this fell on his face and praised God after the Lord allowed Satan to take away everything from him, here is wishing he was dead. Then there were those who actually committed suicide—Samson- Judges 16:29-30, “Then Samson reached toward the two central pillars on which the temple stood. Bracing himself against them, his right hand on the one and his left hand on the other, Samson said, “let me die with the Philistines!” Then he pushed with all his might, and down came the temple on the rulers and all the people in it. Thus he killed many more when he died than while he lived.” Samson killed himself along with the Philistines in one final attempt at revenge. King Saul took his own life. 1 Chronicles 10:4-5 says, “Saul said to his armor-bearer, ‘draw your sword and run me through, or these uncircumcised fellows will come and abuse me.’ but his armor-bearer was terrified and would not do it; so Saul took his own sword and fell on it.” 2 Samuel 17:23, “When Ahithophel saw that his advice had not been followed, he saddled his donkey and set out for his house in his hometown. He put his house in order and then hanged himself. So he died and was buried in his father’s tomb.” 1 Kings 16:18, “When Zimri saw that the city was taken, he went into the citadel of the royal palace and set the palace on fire around him. So he died.” And then there was Judas, the disciple who betrayed Jesus. Matthew 27:3-5, “when Judas, who had betrayed him, saw that Jesus was condemned, he was seized with remorse and returned the thirty silver coins to the chief priests and the elders. ‘I have sinned,’ he said, ‘for I have betrayed innocent blood.’ ‘What is that to us?’ they replied. ‘That’s your responsibility.’ So Judas threw the money into the temple and left. Then he went away and hanged himself.”

Judas was so wrought with guilt that he decided to take his own life.

Leave a Reply

