I have never thanked you for my thorns

Posted on Updated on


I love those who can smile in trouble, who can gather strength from distress, and grow brave by reflection. ‘Tis the business of little minds to shrink, but they whose heart is firm, and whose conscience approves their conduct, will pursue their principles unto death.

Leonardo da Vinci

2 Corinthians 12:10

New International Version (NIV)

10 That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties. For when I am weak, then I am strong.

personal-struggle

The literal translation of this verse adds a startling emphasis to it, allowing it to speak for itself with power we have probably never realized. It is as follows: “Therefore I take pleasure in being without strength, being insulted, experiencing emergencies, and being chased and forced into a corner for Christ’s sake; for when I am without strength, I am “dynamite”.

The secret of knowing God’s complete sufficiency is in coming to the end of everything in ourselves and our circumstances. Once we reach this point, we will stop seeking sympathy for our difficult situation or ill treatment, because we will recognize these things as the necessary conditions for blessings. We will then turn from our circumstances to God, realizing they are the evidence of Him working in our lives.

George Matheson, the well-known blind preacher of Scotland, once said, “My dear God, I have never thanked You for my thorns. I have thanked you a thousand times for my roeses but not once for my thorns. I have always looked forward to the place where I will be rewarded for my cross, but I have never thought of my cross as a present glory itself. “Teach me, O Lord, to glory in my cross. teach me the value of my thorns. Show me how I have climbed to You through the path of pain. Show me it is through my tears I have seen my rainbows.”

Our Savior does not cast us off
Because we fail or turn aside;
He will forgive when we repent,
Then in His love will abide

Champions of faith are people who have learned from their failures. Lift your voice and say “My God is awesome”.

One thought on “I have never thanked you for my thorns

    Hardship Is A Blessing | My Portion and My Strength said:
    April 11, 2013 at 10:39 pm

    […] I have never thanked you for my thorns (blessedaaron08.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

