God’s Work–God’s Pay

Posted on


working for God

Never be afraid to trust an unknown future to a known God.

Corrie Ten Boom

Psalm 40:2

New International Version (NIV)

2 He lifted me out of the slimy pit,
out of the mud and mire;
he set my feet on a rock
and gave me a firm place to stand.

As a young man, J.C. Penny ran a butcher shop. He was told that if he gave a fifth of Scotch to the head chef in a popular hotel, the business of that hotel would be his. Penny did this for some time. Then he felt convicted that what he was doing was wrong. He discontinued the gifts of liquor and sure enough, lost the hotel’s business, causing him to go broke. God, however, had better things planned for him. In time, he began a merchandise business that grew into a nationwide enterprise.

Unsuccessful years alone don’t create success. Remaining true to principles and doing the right thing–even when you seem to be failing–produce success in time. I speak on this with authority because I compromised at my last job and it convicted me because of my beliefs. Just when I decided to “stand” my inner peace was restored, but it propelled me into destitution. I am confident in whom I believe, God is moving things around for me right now. I remember preaching a sermon titled: The preachers pay is not in the envelop. I also read a poem by an unknown writer that says it well:

Who does God’s work will get God’s pay,
However long may seem the day,
However weary be the way;
Though powers and princes thunder “Nay,”
Who does God’s work will get God’s pay.
He does not pay as others pay,
In gold or land or raiment gay;
In goods that vanish and decay;
But God in wisdom knows a way,
Who does God’s work will get God’s pay.

Behind every successful man there’s a lot of unsuccessful years.

Ruined reputation from the event that seperated you from your belief are not out of God’s reach to repair. I am confident that He handles everything assoicited with those who “Trust” HIm. Isn’t there something captivating about the sight of a person burdened with many trials, yet who is as lighthearted as the sound of a bell? Isn’t there something contagious and valiant in seeing others who are greatly tempted but are “more than conquerors? Isn’t it heartening to see a fellow traveler whose body is broken, yet who retains the splendor of unbroken patience?

What a witness these give to the power of God’s gift of grace!

When each earthly brace falls under,
And life seems a restless sea,
Are you then a God-held wonder,
Satisfied and calm and free?

Leave a Reply

