Don’t cut corners…

Posted on Updated on


cutting cornerscompromise

I would prefer even to fail with honor than win by cheating.
Sophocles

Proverbs 11:18
New International Version (NIV)
18 A wicked person earns deceptive wages,
but the one who sows righteousness reaps a sure reward.

I once practiced deception in the way I lived and did business and yes the results were grievious. I am still trying to get out of the clutches of the results of that life style.

I knew a loyal carpenter named Joe Smith who worked nearly two decades for a successful contractor. One day the contractor called him into his office and said, “Joe, I’m putting you in charge of the next house we build. I want you to order all the materials and oversee the job from the ground up.”

Joe accepted the assignment with great enthusiasm. he studied the blueprints and checked every measurement and specification. Suddenly, he had a thought, if I am really in charge, why couldn’t I cut a few corners, use less expensive material, and put the extra money in my pocket? Who will know? Once the house is painted, it will look great.

So Joe went about his scheme. he ordered second-grade lumber and inexpensive concreat, put in cheap wiring, and cut every corner he could. When the home was finished, the contractor came to see it.

“What a fine job you have done!” he said. “You have been such a faithful carpenter to me all these years that I have decided to show you my gratitude by giving to you this very house which you have built.” Build well today. You may have to live with the reputation you create.

Character is like the foundation of a house–it is below the surface…Collapse this post

Leave a Reply

